Raw Pet Food

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Raw Pet Food

A forum for raw-feeding families to chat, discuss, and learn!

2 posters

Anyone have any "proof" that canned dog/cat food is actually complete?

Kelly
    Kelly
    Admin

Anyone have any "proof" that canned dog/cat food is actually complete? Empty Anyone have any "proof" that canned dog/cat food is actually complete?

Post  Kelly Thu Feb 19, 2009 11:11 pm

Other than common sense, I am in a debate about whether or not canned food is 'appropriate' and 'complete'.

The other side is saying that canned dog food is mostly water (which I agree with), BUT, they are saying that the canned food "has no nutritional benefit what so ever".

I -know- this is false, it's common sense that canned = kibble w/less filler/starches.

They are pulling out the "I am a vet tech! I know more!" card, asking for "proof". Other than the fact that they wouldn't sell/recommend canned if it was going to kill pets to eat it, I need proof (I have already suggested that they read the labels and was ignored).

"Can food is nothing but water and if you are in contact with a nutritionalist that specializes in dog food you would know that... Please explain to me what benefits dogs get from canned food other than coaxing them to eat?? I am all ears as I have studied this with a dog nutritionalist that I can get to join here to tell his side"

(Also, I am fully aware this person may be reading this thread, so please try and be nice in your responses, and hey! If I'm wrong, so be it, I will admit defeat!)
    chris10
    chris10

Anyone have any "proof" that canned dog/cat food is actually complete? Empty Mainly info for cats

Post  chris10 Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:19 am